WONDERing in Physical Science

Apr 9, 2013

0
Caplin Family

It's always fun for me when Sarah and I start our new science unit and I spend time searching for wonders that will support our unit as well as my WONDER Wednesday homework for connecting reading and writing.  After some time searching and some help from John at NCFL, I have found the following wonders to support Physcial science.

#72: What Does  Conductor Do? (http://wonderopolis.org/wonder/what-does-a-conductor-do/) #420: How Do Touchscreens Work? (http://wonderopolis.org/wonder/how-do-touch-screens-work/) #414: Can You See Sound? (http://wonderopolis.org/wonder/can-you-see-sound/) #698: How Do Night Vision Goggles Work? (http://wonderopolis.org/wonder/how-do-night-vision-goggles-work/) #709: Why Do Some Things Rust? (http://wonderopolis.org/wonder/why-do-some-things-rust/) #161: What Makes Sounds Louder? (http://wonderopolis.org/wonder/what-makes-sounds-louder/0 #445 When Does the Wind Chill? (http://wonderopolis.org/wonder/when-does-the-wind-chill/) It's always fun the first week when we give the students one battery, two wires and a light bulb and ask them to light the bulb.  For some it takes few minutes, but for others it can take 20 minutes and several clues.  Exploration and inquiry are so important in science. Over the years, I have learned to allow the students time for exploration is crucial for my  scientists to become their own thinkers.  Several years ago, I would have handed my class a worksheet or told them how to to light the bulb. But no more-investigation is the key!  As you can see and hear in the video below the conversations are crucial for the students to understanding their own learning.

Share:
0 Comments

Latest Posts from Our Lead Ambassadors:

Michelle Cooper Mar 17, 2016

The Power of Wonder

What have you wondered about today? What fills you with curiosity? What can you imagine creating? These are just a few questions that will ...

0
Phillips Family Sep 14, 2012

Wondering Through Disney

Last week our family took a trip to Disney World in Florida.  We haven't been there in four years, so everyone was excited to return.  Since we are ...

0
Edwards Family Jul 27, 2012

Current Events and Youngzine?

When you look at the logo above, what parts jump out at you?What do you think this is the logo for?Do you think Current Events?(That is not really ...

0